A First Post

I start this blog with no expectations of readership. It’s merely a record of my path to entering the world of data science – one that I know doubt will see me to the end of my professional career.

To be clear: I’m not looking for a new job. I’m 43 and have been with the same company for 18 years in various IT roles (from programmer to manager to CIO). In the past month, however, the longer smoldering interest in the realm of data science has turned into a roaring fire and I now find my free time spent learning Python, R, statistics, SAP HANA, etc.

So before I get too far, I want to make sure I have a place to record my thoughts, mark any major milestones achieved, review books or online courses and share articles that I come across.

No doubt, it’s one of the hottest new careers one could pursue out there. And if one person benefits from tracking me on my own personal journey, then this blog would have been well worth it.

For now, I’m reveling in my first milestone:

Codecademy Python

This free offering from Codecademy was short, sweet and very effective. It offered a lot of hands-on practice with very clear instructions. There was one lesson towards the end which was nothing but a set of programming challenges. I learned more from that than from reading any book on the subject. In my opinion, they could have done with more. But I easily recommend this site to get the down the fundamentals of Python. There were a series of 12 lessons and I did one per day. A casual pace and it was over before I knew it.

Leave a Reply

